Walking Cocktail

I heard something slither. A snake perhaps? No. What meds did I take? My Xanax? Was it Ritalin? The bushes rustle anew with a ferocity that could wake a hibernating bear. I freeze, uncertainty wrapping its arms round me like some tattered blanket. That’s when I notice it, the cool breeze wisping through my hair, creeping across my chest like an army of insects, merely passing, raising hairs on my nether regions.  Am I… naked? A flash of light hits my eyes. I blink and I’m awake, standing in the courtyard, doe eyed, staring at a man with a badge.

Leave a Reply

